Fort Worth Theft Defense Attorney
Have You Been Charged with Larceny?
We are all aware of the concept of stealing, but when you are actually charged with theft, you may come to find that there is a lot you do not understand with regard to how the law handles these accusations. There are numerous forms of theft, each with different charges and penalties that could have a long-lasting impact on your life.
Understanding the details of your theft charge is a key factor in building a suitable defense. As a knowledgeable Fort Worth theft crime lawyer, I work one-on-one with my clients as I guide them through the criminal justice system.
I am a prosecutor and judge with intimate knowledge of theft crimes and Texas courts, and this means that I can work to mitigate your charges or dismiss them entirely so you can put this incident behind you.
Theft Charges in Texas
Texas law separates theft crimes into several different categories. With some charges, you may be facing a fine with probation, while others could end in a prison sentence and a permanent mark on your criminal record.
Regardless of the penalties, a conviction can affect your long-term employment opportunities and several other aspects of your life. It is always worth the effort of defend yourself to keep your record clean.
In Texas, theft crimes are classified based on the value of the stolen items:
Class C misdemeanor – Less than $100 stolen. Fines up to $500.
- Class B misdemeanor – More than $100 but less than $750 stolen. Fines up to $2,000 and/or up to 180 days in county jail.
- Class A misdemeanor – More than $750 but less than $2,500 stolen. Fines up to $4,000 and/or up to 1 year in county jail
- State jail felony – More than $2,500 but less than $30,000 stolen. Fines up to $10,000 and/or 180 days to 2 years in state prison.
- Third-degree felony – More than $30,000 but less than $150,000 stolen. Fines up to $10,000 and/or 2 to 10 years in state prison.
- Second-degree felony – More than $150,000 but less than $300,000 stolen. Fines up to $10,000 and/or 2 to 20 years in state prison.
- First-degree felony – More than $300,000 stolen. Fines up to $10,000 and 5 to 99 years in state prison.
Keep in mind that your sentence could go beyond the standard rulings if you have a criminal record. Be sure to review your case with an attorney to understand the penalties you could face.
Positive Results in Theft Cases
View more theft case testimonials here.
Put a Dedicated Fort Worth Theft Lawyer on Your Case
Hiring a private attorney will provide you with a legal team that can devote significant time and resources to investigating your case and crafting a unique defense strategy tailored to your needs. When you choose my firm, you will work directly with me, Paul Previte. I will not pass your case off to a paralegal or inexperienced associate. I will fight for your interests and rights at every stage of your case, regardless of the type or severity of theft charges.
Do not wait to secure competent legal counsel. Call (817) 857-6307 today!